Manja slova Veća slova RSS

Ask the Government

                               Ask the Government

Prime Minister Duško Marković to pay official visit to Council of Europe

Published date 25.06.2017 23:02 | Author PR Service

Ispis Print

Prime Minister Duško Marković will leave on Monday afternoon for an official visit to the Council of Europe in Strasbourg on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of Montenegro's membership in this international organisation.

The Prime Minister of Montenegro will address the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe on Tuesday and take questions from the MPs.

During the visit, the Prime Minister will meet with the Council of Europe Secretary-General Torbjorn Jagland, President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe Pedro Agramunt and President of Congress of Local and Regional Authorities Gudrun Mosler Tornstrom.

Prime Minister of Montenegro will also visit the European Court of Human Rights, where he will speak with President of the Court Gvido Raimondi.


The Council of Europe is an international organisation established in 1949 with the aim of promoting democracy, protection and promotion of human rights and ensuring the rule of law in the member states. The seat of the Council of Europe is in Strasbourg. The organisation has 47 member states.

Montenegro became a full member of the Council of Europe on 11 May 2007. The permanent mission of Montenegro to the Council of Europe was opened on 1 October 2007.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe is a forum comprised of 324 Representative Members and 324 MPs elected by the national parliaments of the member states.

The Assembly meets in Strasbourg four times a year at plenary five-day sessions (end of January, April, June and September). The conclusions from the sessions are guidelines for the activities of the Committee of Ministers.

The Delegation of Montenegro to the Parliamentary Assembly consists of:

Predrag Sekulić, head of Delegation;
Marija Ćatović, member of the delegation;
Sanja Vlahović, deputy member of the delegation;
Ervin Ibrahimović, deputy member of the delegation.

The European Court of Human Rights is an international court established in 1959, consisting of 47 judges. The seat of the Court is in Strasbourg. The court decides on the petitions of individuals or states that treat human rights violations guaranteed by the European Convention on Human Rights. The Court acts as the highest institution for the protection of human rights after all legal remedies in judicial proceedings in the member states have been exhausted.

Montenegrin judge at the European Court of Human Rights is Nebojša Vučinić. The representative of Montenegro before this institution is Valentina Pavličić.


The Public Relations Service of the Government of Montenegro will report timely from all relevant events by sending the materials to the media by e-mail and by placing content on social networks. Media will be provided with a video clip and the text of the Prime Minister's speech to the Parliamentary Assembly, videos and photographs of all events, as well as the statement of the Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister will address the SE Parliamentary Assembly on Tuesday at 12:00.

All relevant information is available on the PS SE website.




SE Parliamentary Assembly broadcasts all events live on its Internet portal:

The planned completion of all events is on Tuesday, 15:30.

Web page of the Government of Montenegro (English):



Twitter (English):


FTP Server (High Res PHOTO & HD VIDEO):

Username: VladaCG
Password: VladaCG